Are you selling your PS4? We explain how to delete your data

Want to sell your PS4 or PS4 Pro? Clean data before placing it on Wallapop

At this point, you may have finally been able to buy a PlayStation 5. If so, you may also have occurred to you that it is not a good idea to sell a previous generation console. After all, the PlayStation 5 is fully backward compatible, so you’ll be able to play any PS4 games you have without any issues.

If you’ve ever thought about taking your old console to a second-hand store, or if you’re going to put it on platforms like Wallapop, it’s really important to delete all your data from it. There are many cases of people who buy a console and when they receive it at home, they discover that they have access to all the data of the previous owner.

What important data can a PlayStation 4 have?

Here is the data your PS4 can have inside it:

  • Data preservation: We refer here to information we produce in our video games. This is not generally sensitive information, but it is convenient to remove it from our devices before it is put up for sale.
  • Sessions: Any service that requires a username and password. If you play Fortnite for example, then it’s natural that you automatically get access to the video game. If you do not delete this session from your account, the next owner will have access to your account. The same goes for any other game on this platform or even your PlayStation Network account.
  • Integrations: PlayStation also allows users to link specific accounts to specific social networks. Imagine that someone gained access to Twitter, Discord, or any other platform just because they bought you a PS4.
  • Payment data: closely related to the previous case. If we place a credit card in one of our accounts, someone can make a payment without our permission. It can be really dangerous, and more than enough reason to clean your PlayStation before it goes on sale. If your PlayStation Network account is connected to the console, anyone with access to it can make purchases, impersonate us and even perform some type of criminal practice, so our account can be banned from Sony’s servers.

How do you reset PS4?

ps4.jpg initialization

In the previous section, we already told you about the risks of selling the console with our personal information. Right now, selling or giving away the console is like doing the same with a PC or mobile phone.

On computers, we generally do a formatting before the device goes on sale. There are even people who change their hard drive to a new one to prevent malicious people from accessing sensitive information. However, video game consoles usually have a system more similar to what we see in mobile phones. The PlayStation 4 has a tool that allows you to delete all the information on it. This way, the next owner of the machine can take it out of the box, power it up and set it up as if it were a brand new machine.

In the case of the PS4, what we have to do is go to the settings menu on our console, enter “configure” and locate the “configure PS4” section, which will be the section that will allow us to perform this formatting process.

Once in this option, we can choose between two types of configuration:

Quick Format

ps4 hacked versions

This will allow us to erase our data and restore the console to its factory state. But beware, this process does not completely erase the data.

If you have some computer knowledge, we will just tell you that this kind of setup works just like the quick format. Information written to disk will be discarded by the console and only new data will be taken into account.

In most cases, this kind of coordination will be sufficient if we are going to leave our console to someone we know. A family member, a lifelong friend we’ll leave the console for at a good price…but that’s not the ideal way if you’re going to leave your console in the hands of a complete stranger. The downside to this process is that with the right tools, information we think we’ve deleted can be recovered. If your PlayStation 4 is for sale and its next owner is not someone you trust, we recommend that you apply the second method that we will explain to you.

full configuration

This process is much slower. In fact, it can be completed in several hours. However, it is completely safe, as it deletes every byte of information from the PS4 hard drive, ensuring that no information can be recovered. By doing this, even with specialized tools, they will not be able to extract any kind of important data from the console.

This process cannot be undone, so before doing that we need to make sure that nothing is left on the console that we want to save (like screenshots or browser bookmarks) and that information like game saves are synced correctly. with the cloud

Once the PS4 is fully configured, we can resell it without any fear. If you’re going to do Method 2 and think the slow process is frustrating you, perform these steps at night and move your PS4 away from where you sleep – so you don’t get bothered by fan noise. .

Leave a Comment